Ricarda Winkelmann wins academics' young scientist award

06/12/2018 - Ricarda Winkelmann from the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK) has been honoured as this year's Young Scientist of the Year by 'academics' by ZEIT publishing group. Winkelmann was awarded due to her outstanding and groundbreaking research and publication achievements in researching the climate system and the risks of climate change. She is junior professor for Climate System Analysis at the University of Potsdam and scientist at PIK in research domain Earth System Analysis. She heads the Leibniz project "DominoES - Domino Effects in the Earth System" as well as the PIK working group on ice sheet dynamics.
Ricarda Winkelmann wins academics' young scientist award
Ricarda Winkelmann on expedition to the Antarctic (Photo: Maria Martin)

The jury recognized Winkelmann's impressive research and publication achievements, as well as the internationality and topicality of her research on climate change. The ice dynamics of the Antarctic, global sea-level rise, the interaction of tipping elements in the Earth system – her research focuses are topics of great scientific and social relevance. The development of one of the first ice models for the Antarctic, in which Ricarda Winkelmann was significantly involved and which is now used worldwide, was a milestone for climate research. Her commitment to communicating her research to the general public, for example in science-meets-arts projects or stakeholder dialogues, as well as her dedication to promoting young women in the natural sciences make her stand out.

The prize honours young scientists who have made sustainable progress in their respective fields of science with outstanding and forward-looking research achievements and who are also distinguished by exemplary engagement and dedication to science. The renowned science prize has been awarded since 2007 annually with the support of ZEIT publishing group at the German Gala of Science of the German University Association.

Weblink to the academics' young scientist award from ZEIT publishing group: www.academics.de/nachwuchspreis