# Meeting of the Presidents of the Academies of Sciences of the G8 + 5 countries<sup>1</sup> with Chancellor Angela Merkel

16 May 2007, 3.00 – 4.00 p.m.

at the Chancellery Willy-Brandt-Straße 1, 10557 Berlin, Germany

### Photo 13694\_133566

# From left to right:

# 1. Federative Republic of Brazil: Brazilian Academy of Sciences

- Professor Eduardo Krieger, Past-President
- 2. Canada: RSC, The Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada
- Professor Patricia Demers, President

# 3. United Mexican States: Mexican Academy of Sciences

Professor José Franco, Secretary-General

# 4. Italy: Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei

- Professor Lamberto Maffei, Vice-President
- 5. Federal Republic of Germany: German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
- Professor Joachim Schellnhuber
- 6. Japan: Science Council of Japan, SCJ
- Professor Norihisa Doi, Vice-President
- 7. Chancellor Angela Merkel

# 8. United States of America: US National Academies of Sciences

- Professor Ralph J. Cicerone, President
- 9. Federal Republic of Germany: German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
- Professor Volker ter Meulen, President

### **10. Federal Republic of Germany:** German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina

• Professor Jutta Schnitzer-Ungefug, General Secretary

# 11. France: Académie des sciences

• Professor Jules Hoffmann, President

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> G8: Canada, France, Federal Republic of Germany, Italy, Japan, Russian Federation, United Kingdom, United States of America

<sup>+ 5:</sup> Federative Republic of Brazil, People's Republic of China, Republic of India, United Mexican States, Republic of South Africa

#### 12. Canada: RSC, The Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada

• Professor Howard Alper, Past President of The Royal Society of Canda, President of the InterAcademic Panel

#### **13. Russian Federation:** *Russian Academy of Sciences, RAS*

• Professor S.M. Aldoshin, Full member of the Russian Academy of Sciences, member of the Presidium of the RAS, Chairman of the Committee of Directors of the RAS Institutes.

# 14. Network of African Science Academies (NASAC)

• Professor Mohamed H. A. Hassan, Chairman NASAC, Executive Director TWAS

### **15. United Kingdom:** *The Royal Society*

• Professor Sir John Houghton, Member of the Royal Society, former Co-Chair of the Scientific Assessment Working Group (Group 1) of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)