Search results

8 items matching your search terms.
Filter the results.
Item type












New items since



Sort by relevance · date (newest first) · alphabetically
An Economic Case for the UN Climate Targets: Early and strong climate action pays off
07/13/2020 - Climate action is not cheap – but climate damages aren’t, either. So what level of climate action is best, economically speaking? This question has puzzled economists for decades, and in particular since the 2018 Nobel Prize in Economics went to William Nordhaus, who found 3.5 degrees of warming by 2100 might be an economically desirable outcome. An international team of scientists led by the Potsdam Institute has now updated the computer simulation model used to come to this conclusion with latest data and insights from both climate science and economics. They found that limiting global warming to below 2 degrees strikes an economically optimal balance between future climate damages and today’s climate mitigation costs. This would require a price of CO2 of more than 100 US Dollar per ton.
Located in News Latest News
Bundesbank experts discuss climate risks for finance
13/02/2020 - Climate risks for finance were at the centre of a joint workshop at the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK) with experts from the German Bundesbank. Both the physical impacts of global warming, for instance weather extremes, and the economical impacts of transitioning to net zero CO2 emissions have huge implications. The experts and scientists discussed potential future collaborations, namely on data exchange and computer simulation modelling.
Located in News Latest News
PIK and MCC deliver detailed assessment of German climate package
14/10/2019 - The climate protection programme adopted by the Federal Government last week, which is intended to limit greenhouse gas emissions especially in the transport and heating sectors, is unlikely to be sufficient to achieve the 2030 climate targets. Policymakers need to make four particular adjustments: first, they need to raise the level of ambition for the carbon price; second, they need to improve social balance; third, they need to develop further its integration with the EU level; and fourth, they need to introduce an effective monitoring process. This is the core message of a detailed assessment of the climate package, presented by the Berlin climate research institute MCC (Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change) and the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK).
Located in News Latest News
Edenhofer speaks at CDU and CSU events
09/09/2019 - The two sister Parties of the German conservatives are seeking the expertise of climate economist Ottmar Edenhofer, Director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research and the Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change. Prior to the Federal Government's decision on the possible introduction of a national CO2 pricing, Edenhofer was invited as an expert to several events by CDU and CSU, just as he had already presented the state of research to other Parties, ministries and associations. Edenhofer with his team from PIK and MCC has contributed the climatic-economic part of the report on CO2 pricing by the German Council of Economic Experts.
Located in News Latest News
Project »IF«: Investment Funds for low-carbon Infrastructure
Located in Institute Transformation Pathways Projects
Flipping the switch: making use of carbon price dollars for health and education
07/16/2018 - While health systems, clean water and education are a plain given in many parts of the world, millions of people still do not have sufficient access to these basic public goods. In fact, carbon prices could make substantial financial resources available for succeeding with the global Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) set by the United Nations, a team of scientists now finds. At the same time, carbon pricing could be a central contribution to meet global climate targets and limit global warming to well below 2°C until the end of the century.
Located in News Latest News
FutureLab: Public Economics and Climate Finance
Located in Institute FutureLabs
PRIDE - Policy and Regulatory Instruments in a Decentralized Economy
Located in Institute Transformation Pathways Models

Suchergebnisse

9 Artikel gefunden.
Trefferliste einschränken
Tags auswählen
Wählen Sie einen oder mehrere tags.
Artikeltyp










Neue Artikel seit



Trefferliste sortieren Relevanz · Datum (neueste zuerst) · alphabetisch
McConnell
Existiert in PIK Members Andrew McConnell
Lessmann
Existiert in PIK Members Kai Lessmann
UN-Klimaziele sind ökonomisch sinnvoll: Ambitionierter Klimaschutz zahlt sich aus
13.07.2020 - Klimaschutz ist nicht billig – aber Klimaschäden sind es auch nicht. Wie viel Klimaschutz ist also wirtschaftlich gesehen am sinnvollsten? Diese Frage hat Ökonomen jahrzehntelang beschäftigt, insbesondere seit dem Wirtschaftsnobelpreis 2018 für William Nordhaus, dessen Berechnungen nach eine Erwärmung um 3,5 Grad bis 2100 ein ökonomisch wünschenswertes Ergebnis sei. Ein internationales Team aus Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern unter der Leitung des Potsdam-Instituts für Klimafolgenforschung hat nun die Computersimulation, die diesen Schluss gezogen hat, mit den neuesten Daten und Erkenntnissen aus Klima- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften aktualisiert. Sie stellten fest, dass die Begrenzung der Erderwärmung auf unter 2 Grad ein wirtschaftlich optimales Gleichgewicht zwischen künftigen Klimaschäden und den heutigen Kosten für den Klimaschutz herstellt. Das würde einen CO2-Preis von mehr als 100 US-Dollar pro Tonne erfordern.
Existiert in Aktuelles Nachrichten
Bundesbankexpertinnen und -experten diskutieren über Klimarisiken für die Finanzwirtschaft
13.02.2020 - Klimarisiken für die Finanzwirtschaft standen im Mittelpunkt eines gemeinsamen Workshops des Potsdam-Instituts für Klimafolgenforschung (PIK) mit Expertinnen und Experten der Deutschen Bundesbank. Sowohl die physischen Auswirkungen der globalen Erwärmung, zum Beispiel Extremwetterereignisse, als auch die wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen der Transformation hin zu Netto-Null-CO2-Emissionen haben enorme Auswirkungen. Die Experten und Wissenschaftlerinnen diskutierten mögliche zukünftige Kooperationen, insbesondere beim Datenaustausch und bei der Modellierung von Computersimulationen.
Existiert in Aktuelles Nachrichten
Finanzministerinnen und -minister der Eurogruppe debattieren mit Edenhofer
17.2.2020 - Die Finanzministerinnen und -minister der Eurogruppe haben den Klimaökonomen Ottmar Edenhofer eingeladen, bei ihrem Treffen in Brüssel am Montag zu sprechen. Sie erwarten von ihm "eine neue Perspektive", die auf seinen "wichtigen Beiträgen zur Forschung und öffentlichen Debatte über die Ökonomie des Klimawandels und der Klimapolitik" beruht. Edenhofer, Direktor des Potsdam-Instituts für Klimafolgenforschung und des Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change, wird über Umweltsteuern sprechen, die sowohl zur Klimastabilisierung als auch zu sozialer Gerechtigkeit beitragen könnten.
Existiert in Aktuelles Nachrichten
PIK und MCC legen ausführliche Bewertung des Klimapakets vor
14.10.2019 - Das Klimaschutzprogramm, das die Bundesregierung in der vergangenen Woche verabschiedet hat und welches die Treibhausgas-Emissionen vor allem in den großen Problembereichen Verkehr und Wärme begrenzen soll, ist für das Erreichen der Klimaziele 2030 aller Voraussicht nach nicht ausreichend. Die Politik muss vor allem an vier Punkten nachsteuern: Sie muss erstens das Ambitionsniveau beim CO2-Preis erhöhen, zweitens den sozialen Ausgleich verbessern, drittens die Überführung auf EU-Ebene weiter ausgestalten und viertens einen effektiven Monitoringprozess einführen. Das ist die Kernbotschaft einer ausführlichen Bewertung des Klimapakets, vorgelegt vom Potsdam-Institut für Klimafolgenforschung (PIK) und dem Berliner Klimaforschungsinstitut MCC (Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change).
Existiert in Aktuelles Nachrichten
Hänsel
Existiert in PIK Members Martin Haensel
Den Schalter umlegen: Öffentliche Einnahmen aus CO2-Bepreisung für Gesundheit und Bildung nutzen
16.07.2018 - Während Gesundheitssysteme, sauberes Wasser und Bildung in vielen Teilen der Welt eine Selbstverständlichkeit sind, haben Millionen von Menschen immer noch keinen ausreichenden Zugang zu diesen grundlegenden öffentlichen Gütern. CO2-Preise könnten allerdings erhebliche finanzielle Mittel für die von den Vereinten Nationen festgelegten globalen Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (SDGs) bereitstellen, das zeigt ein Team von Wissenschaftlern nun auf. Gleichzeitig könnten CO2-Preise einen zentralen Beitrag zur Begrenzung der globalen Erwärmung auf deutlich unter 2°C bis zum Ende des Jahrhunderts leisten.
Existiert in Aktuelles Nachrichten
Hendrik Schuldt
Existiert in PIK Members